Thank fuck for Bandcamp.

So yeah it’s been a while since my last post, life is busy and I am tired. Which is a nice lead on to the topic I am about to discuss…

I feel like I’ve hardly had time to listen to a lot of music lately, but one particular thing that I always seem to have time for are the HUNDREDS AND THOUSANDS OF AWESOME RECORDS ON BANDCAMP.

I have a fifteen minute walk to work, which is some of the most precious time a person has in a working day – the commute. Say what you will about shitty commutes to work – choose the right music to listen to and you’re golden. Thankfully my walk is rather lovely and not stressful.

I fucking love 7″ records, there’s just something about them, they have this urgency and rawness that doesn’t always come across in a full length. Now I don’t have one of those fancy turntables with the USB shit to transfer that stuff to my phone, and my laptop barely turns on any more, so what’s my next best way of listening to raging bangers on the move? BANDCAMP HELLOOO! SO many good records at your fingertips with the added ease of being able to pay for the stuff there and then, or even buy a hard copy and still be able to stream it. Genius. (My bandcamp profile is just Vari McLaren if you wanna see what I’ve got!)

So, what have I been listening to? I’ll give you a little run down, not all of it is new but it’s all good.

Triage – Power Beat 7″, April 2016 – Really awesome power d-beat from Toronto. They’ve got a couple of releases up on Bandcamp, both awesome. This 7″ is relentless and I love where the vocals sit in the mix. Spot on.

Leather Daddy – s/t 7″, Feb 2015 – This isn’t new in the slightest, but I fucking love it. It’s got some great attitude and enormous punk groove to it. They’re from Boston need I say more? I don’t even know if they’re still a band any more! If any one knows please let me know!

Chump – Treat Me Mean, April 2016 – Chump are from Glasgow and I’ve seen them a couple of times now and I looooove them. A very different vein from the previous two releases above but still so interesting. They play a really lo-fi, deep, soothing indie which reminds me of Warpaint to an extent. The sound on this ep is so great too perfect for their style. Just buy it ok?

Sheer Mag – III, March 2016 – C’mon, you know Sheer Mag by now, right? This is the third 7″ from them and they are the epitome of the successful punk 7″. With each release I just love them more and more. I hear The Stooges and Thin Lizzy in them, and these are two bands who I ADORE. Honest and relevant lyrics with sweet fucking riffs and a recording style that some might hate, but I fucking love. It’s scratchy and lo-fi, but goddamn it works. Get all three of these records, you absolutely won’t regret it.

Ok I think I may have rambled enough for this evening. I hope I’ll post some more of these snippets over the next few weeks, but I won’t bore you with too many.

Buy records. Listen to records. Talk about records. It’s healthy, honest.

V.

Leave a Reply

